Local Area Guide

Counties

Suffolk www.visitsuffolk.com
Cambridgeshire www.visitcambridge.org
Norfolk www.visitnorfolk.co.uk
Essex www.visitessex.com

Local Towns and Villages

Abbey

 

Bury St Edmunds www.visit-burystedmunds.co.uk
Lavenham www.discoverlavenham.co.uk
Long Melford www.longmelford.co.uk
Woodbridge www.visit-woodbridge.co.uk
Sudbury www.sudburysuffolk.co.uk
Norwich www.visitnorwich.co.uk
Newmarket www.discovernewmarket.co.uk
Ipswich www.allaboutipswich.com

Coastal Retreats

Aldeburgh www.visit-aldeburgh.co.uk
Southwold www.exploresouthwold.co.uk
Walberswick www.explorewalberswick.co.uk
Felixstowe www.visitfelixstowe.co.uk
Orford/ Orford Ness www.orford.org.uk
Lowestoft www.lovelowestoft.co.uk
Great Yarmouth www.great-yarmouth.co.uk
North Norfolk Coast www.visitnorthnorfolk.com

Local Pubs & Fine Dining Restaurants

Lamb

The Horseshoes Inn – Cockfield www.thehorseshoes-inn.co.uk
The Great House – Lavenham www.greathouse.co.uk
Lavenham Greyhound www.lavenhamgreyhound.com
Long Melford Swan www.longmelfordswan.co.uk
Scutchers – Long Melford www.scutchers.com
Memsaab Traditional Indian – Lavenham www.memsaaboflavenham.co.uk
Maison Bleue – Bury St Edmunds www.maisonbleue.co.uk
1921 Angel Hill – Bury St Edmunds www.nineteen-twentyone.co.uk
Ben’s – Bury St Edmunds www.bensrestaurant.co.uk
Pea Porridge – Bury St Edmunds www.peaporridge.co.uk
The Crown – Bildeston www.thebildestoncrown.com
The Swan Inn www.swaninnlawshall.com
Gallery restaurant at The Swan, Lavenham theswanatlavenham.co.uk
Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms facebook.com/lavenhamblue

Culture & History

Lavenham Guildhall www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lavenham-guildhall
St Edmundsbury Cathedral www.stedscathedral.co.uk
Abbey Gardens www.visit-burystedmunds.co.uk/abbey-gardens.html
Moyse’s Hall www.weststow.org/moyses-hall
West Stow Anglo Saxon Village www.weststow.org/moyses-hall
Melford Hall www.nationaltrust.org.uk/melford-hall
Kentwell Hall www.kentwell.co.uk
Nowton Park www.westsuffolk.gov.uk/leisure/Parks/nowton-park.cfm
Ickworth House www.nationaltrust.org.uk/ickworth
Gainsborough’s House www.gainsborough.org
Constable Country- Dedham Vale www.constablecountry.co.uk
Flatford Mill www.nationaltrust.org.uk/flatford
Framlingham Castle www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/framlingham-castle
Sandringham Estate www.sandringhamestate.co.uk
Orford Castle www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/orford-castle
Sutton Hoo www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sutton-hoo
Languard Fort www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/landguard-fort
Museum of East Anglian Life www.eastanglianlife.org.uk/home.html
Duxford Imperial War Museum www.iwm.org.uk/visits/iwm-duxford
Cambridge Universities & Colleges www.visitcambridge.org
Dad’s Army Museum, Thetford www.dadsarmythetford.org.uk

Concerts, Cinemas & Theatres

Gallops

Theatre Royal Bury St Edmunds www.theatreroyal.org
The Apex – Bury St Edmunds www.theapex.co.uk
Ipswich Regent & Corn Exchange www.apps.ipswich.gov.uk/PEO
Norwich Theatre Royal www.secure.theatreroyalnorwich.co.uk/Online
Cambridge Corn Exchange www.cambridgelivetrust.co.uk/cornex
Abbeygate Cinema – Bury St Edmunds www.abbeygatecinema.co.uk
Cineworld – Bury St Edmunds, Ipswich http://www1.cineworld.co.uk
Newmarket Races/Newmarket Nights www.newmarket.thejockeyclub.co.uk/newmarket-nights
Thetford Forest/Summer Concerts www.forestry.gov.uk/MUSIC

Outdoor Activities

Punting

Local Bike Hire www.megliarosso.co.uk
GO APE – Thetford Forest www.goape.co.uk
Thetford Forest Park www.forestry.gov.uk/highlodge
Newmarket Races www.newmarket.thejockeyclub.co.uk/
Punting in Cambridge www.scudamores.com and www.letsgopunting.co.uk
Banham Zoo www.banhamzoo.co.uk
Colchester Zoo www.colchester-zoo.com
Africa Alive www.africa-alive.co.uk
Norfolk Broads www.norfolkbroads.com
RSPB Minsmere www.rspb.org.uk
Wizard Balloons Hot Air Ballooning www.wizardballoons.co.uk

Food & Drink Lovers

Wine

Greene King Visitor Centre www.greenekingshop.co.uk
The Nutshell Public House (Britain’s Smallest Pub) www.thenutshellpub.co.uk
Suffolk Food Hall www.suffolkfoodhall.co.uk
Jimmy’s Farm http://jimmysfarm.com
Adnams Brewery Tour https://tours.adnams.co.uk
Hollow Trees Farm www.hollowtrees.co.uk
Alder Carr Farm www.aldercarrfarm.co.uk
Elveden Estate www.elveden.com
Wyken Vineyards www.wykenvineyards.co.uk
Shawsgate Vineyards www.shawsgate.co.uk
Giffords Hall Vineyards www.giffordshall.co.uk

Rest & Relaxation

Spa2

Weavers House Spa – Lavenham www.theswanatlavenham.co.uk/spa/
Heritage Beauty – Bury St Edmunds www.heritagebeauty.me
Newmarket Thai Spa – Newmarket www.newmarketthaispa.co.uk/NewmarketThaiSpa/Welcome.html

Retail Therapy

The Arc – Bury St Edmunds www.arc-burystedmunds.com
The Grand Arcade – Cambridge www.grandarcade.co.uk
Chapelfield – Norwich www.intu.co.uk/chapelfield
Buttermarket – Ipswich www.buttermarketipswich.com
Stonham Barns www.stonhambarns.co.uk